2017

    • Date
      2017.06.22 - 09.10
    • Artist
      Oliver Herring
    • Curator
  • Links
  • Images

Oliver Herring: 47 Days

Oliver Herring’s ever-expanding body of work ranges from early sculptures made by knitting with Mylar tape to experimental videos, and to complex photo-sculptures. Since 1998, Herring has regularly involved other people in his work, the best known being his community TASK events. These events invite participants to direct and shape an art work by assigning each other creative tasks to carry out, but leaving them free to follow their own impulses and approach to execution. Other community-based projects include stop-motion videos, scrupulously rendered photo-sculptures, and collaborative performances. These intimate interactions expand his practice into new realms, culminating in a series of highly successful events and workshop experiences. These projects have a particular focus on social interaction, human relationships and playful experimentation.   
   
For his solo project in Xi’an, Herring expands upon the success of recent participatory projects in Chengdu and Wuzhen. Taking choreography as the core direction and process, he will shoot a series of short videos involving local Xi’an participants including dancers and non-dancers of both genders to produce a work unique to Xi’an. In addition to a familiar range of materials such as body paint, food dye, glitter and flour, the Xi’an project incorporates a new interest in clothing as costume. Throughout the period of the exhibition, the lower ground gallery at OCAT Xi’an will function as an open studio. Visitors can drop in a get involved at any time.
 
 
For their assistance with Oliver Herring’s programme, we would like to thank BANK/MABSOCIETY, Western Movie Group, Department of Clothing Design of Xi’an Academy of Fine Arts, Shaanxi Vocational Academy of Art and Dahua 1935 for help Oliver’s project. Special thanks go to the volunteers, for their enthusiasm and excellent performance that made the project has been successfully happened.
 
 
 
About the Artist

Oliver Herring was born in Heidelberg, Germany in 1964. He has exhibited widely including the Museum of Modern Art, NY; the Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum of Art, NY; The Hirschhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden, Washington, DC; the Camden Arts Centre, London, England; the Kyoto Art Center, Kyoto, Japan; the He Xiangning Art Museum, Shenzhen, China; the Xth Lyon Biennale, Lyon, France; the 2010 Aichi Triennale, Nagoya, Japan; Performa 09, NY; and many others venues. In 2009, the Tang Museum, Saratoga Springs, NY organized a 15-year survey of Herring’s work. Herring was featured on Season 3 of Art21/PBs’s program: Art21, Art in the 21st Century. He lives and works in Brooklyn, New York.

×

Newsletter Subscription

2017

奥利弗·赫林:四十七天


奥利弗·赫林(Oliver Herring)的作品涉猎甚广,从早期用聚酯带编织的雕塑到实验影像,再到光刻雕塑都是其身体艺术创作的组成部分。自1998年,赫林便时常邀请其他人加入自己的创作,最广为人知的便是他发起的TASK社区活动,该活动为每一位邀请参与者指派了创作任务,让其完全自由的凭个人意愿全面参与作品的塑造。另一项社区驻留项目包括定格影像、精细的光刻雕塑,以及一些合作表演。这些创作形式之间的密切互动使得他的创作拓展到全新领域,并在一系列成功举办的活动和工作坊经验中达到了顶峰。并且,这些艺术项目一直都围绕着社交互动、人际关系以及趣味实验这三大核心要素。

在即将呈现于OCAT西安馆的个人驻留项目中,赫林延续了近期于成都、乌镇两地的“参与式”项目形式,将以舞蹈作为核心元素贯穿项目全过程。他将通过一系列关于舞蹈短片的拍摄与西安本地专业及非专业的舞者一起制作出一部独特的作品。项目中除了赫林常涉及到的身体彩绘,对食用色素、闪光小亮片和面粉等材料的运用之外,还将结合服饰作为这次在西安项目中新的发掘点。所以,在整个项目期间,OCAT西安馆负一层将被打造成完全开放的工作室。你已收到来自奥利弗·赫林的邀请,请随时参与其中!


关于艺术家

奥利佛·赫林(Oliver Herring),1964年出生于德国海德堡。赫林曾在纽约现代艺术博物馆、纽约古根海姆博物馆、华盛顿赫希洪博物馆及雕塑公园、英国伦敦卡姆登艺术中心、日本京都艺术中心、中国深圳何香凝美术馆、“每日奇观”——第十届里昂当代艺术双年展、2010年度日本名古屋爱知三年展、纽约Performa 09行为艺术双年展等地举办展览。《Art 21》杂志第3期对他进行了特别报道。现生活并工作于纽约布鲁克林。

×

邮件订阅