Xi'an Showcase

Xi’an Showcase is not just the name of a new project for OCAT Xi’an, but a new space inserted into the exhibition hall; a special “corner” dedicated to use for the project. In geometry, a “corner” is formed at the vertex of two lines or rays emanating from it. The Greek mathematician Euclid proposed that a corner or angle represents a relationship between the two rays. A century later, philosopher Proclus suggested that this type of elemental relationship could be quantified. The “corner” itself thus becomes the carrier of multiple relationships, which are embodied in the Xi’an Showcase project.
 
Xi’an Showcase focuses on local artists and art groups. The sequence of presentations will rotate at a relatively faster pace than the main exhibitions at OCAT Xi’an, and thus contain an intensive energy. The project unfolds through a series of four different “relationships” that begin from the site itself, the “corner” of the museum, to explore possibilities for the project itself in relation to social, economic and aesthetic issues, and the relationship between artists and curators. Xi’an Showcase is intended to inspire local artists to new fields of creativity, rooted in their knowledge structure, understanding and personal methodology contra traditional art. Each will use different media and vocabularies to explain the relationships that exist within their daily discoveries. The approach is a process of natural growth rather than resorting to a conscious formula to advance the concept of art. There are multiple layers of meaning in daily relationships that can be covered and which include that between life and art.
 
Xi’an Showcase is not just a visual presentation. It also seeks to reflect the mindset of artists working in Xi’an. Xi’an Showcase is the first step in a series of project created by OCAT Xi’an to support local artists.
 
Programme Curator: Yang Xi

  1. Launching this spring is a new project titled “Personal Space”. Following the success of the Xi’an Showcase project space, we launch Personal Space to provide a platform for young artists from outside of Xi’an to showcase their work. This dedicated programme will give particular place to young artists working in unusual fields or with unconventional media.

×

Newsletter Subscription

西安角

西安角项目截取了OCAT西安馆展厅中的一个“角”作为项目的使用空间。在几何学中“角”是由两条有公共端点的射线组成的几何对象。欧几里得(Euclid)提出角是一种关系。普罗克鲁斯(Proclus),也认为角可能是一种特质、一种可量化的量或是一种关系。因此,作为“角”自身而言是多重关系的载体。

在西安角中我们着眼于西安本地艺术家和艺术群体,以一个相对快速的节奏和较为密集的方式依次呈现。项目通过四种不同的“关系”进行串联,从展厅的内在场域出发,探讨项目本身和社会、经济、艺术、艺术家和策展人之间的种种可能。这个计划中,我们意图激发出西安本地艺术家特有的创造力,通过他们的知识结构,对传统艺术的理解和自我方法论的思考,采用不同的媒介和语言,阐述出日常的所见关系。这样的日常是自然生发而成的,而不是坠入情感的公式,以概念先行的艺术。日常关系涵盖很多,例如生活关系、社会关系、艺术关系等等。

西安角不仅仅只是视觉的呈现,而是力求表达出西安艺术家的创作状态和其所思所想。并能以此揭示出OCAT西安馆对本地艺术家的扶持和推动。

项目策划人:杨西
  1. OCAT西安馆将从2017年春季开启新的独立项目——“自我空间”。继“西安角”项目的成功举办,“自我空间”新项目旨在为非西安本地的年轻艺术家提供一个展示的平台。此次专属项目将为首次亮相的青年艺术家、女性艺术家和创作于特殊领域或使用非传统媒介的艺术家提供一个特定的展示空间。

×

邮件订阅